David Lee Murphy

David Lee Murphy is best recognized by his massive hit single “Dust On The Bottle”. But he is also known as one of Country Music’s best songwriters. He has written songs for superstar artists like Kenny Chesney, Hank Williams, Jr. and many others.

Pursuing a career in music, Murphy moved to Nashville. He also formed a band, The Blue Tick Hounds. Several rough demos of Murphy’s compositions, including the song “Party Crowd” caught the attention of MCA executives who passed Murphy’s music along. Murphy signed as an artist to MCA Records shortly after. Murphy’s debut platinum selling album for the label. Including a string of hits like title track “Out With A Bang”, “Fish Ain’t Bitin’” and “Just Once”, which was featured in the movie 8 Seconds about bull rider Lane Frost. Also on that album were the hit singles “Party Crowd” and the #1 single “Dust On The Bottle”. Both songs have become staples in Country Radio.

He has earned over two dozen songwriting awards for songs he has written for superstars like Kenny Chesney (“Here And Now”, “Live A Little”, “Living In Fast Forward”, “Pirate Flag”, “’Til It’s Gone”); Jason Aldean (“Big Green Tractor”, “The Only Way I Know”); Jake Owen (“Anywhere With You”); Thompson Square (Grammy-nominated “Are You Gonna Kiss Me Or Not”); Kip Moore (“Last Shot”); Justin Moore (“Why We Drink”); Gary Allan (“A Feelin’ Like That”); Josh Thompson (“Way Out Here”) and Blackberry Smoke (“Good One Coming On”).

David is one of 5 esteemed songwriters entering the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame (NaSHOF) in its Class of 2023. Those inductees include Keith Urban, Kix Brooks, Casey Beathard, David Lee Murphy and Rafe Van Hoy.

Featured Playlist: